What is Kundalini Yoga? – A Beginners Guide

According to ancient yogic philosophy, there is a life force located at the base of the spine in every human being. This life force is represented by a coiled serpent that awaits the awakening of its energy in order to revert back the spiritual energy into the entire body.

The method in which the awakening occurs is called the Kundalini yoga. The term “kundala” came from Sanskrit origin, which means to coil or to spiral. There are several annotations about the significance of Kundalini yoga to humans. In Hindu traditions, Kundalini yoga refers to the spiritual awakening of the body by practicing shaktipat through the guidance of a spiritual leader. On the other hand, a scholar of yoga named Sovatsky interprets Kundalini yoga “as a catalyst for psycho-spiritual growth and bodily maturation.” Other schools of thought explained the comparison between the Kundalini yoga method and the redemption of the serpent in God’s story of creation. This metaphorical explanation brings forth a lucid interpretation on how Kundalini yoga works.

The coiled serpent representation at the base of the human spine is the fallen serpent in God’s story of creation. Like the fallen serpent that faced its resurrection through God’s forgiveness, the coiled serpent can also be awakened and resurrect through the power of successful yoga and spiritual contemplation. The awakening shall pass through the seven chakra systems, which are the focal points of specific energies of the body. The seven chakras represent the following body parts and corresponding values:

First chakra (base of the spine): foundation and fear of the inner self

Second chakra (navel): creation and desire

Third chakra (upper abdomen): will and action

Fourth chakra (heart): love

Fifth chakra (throat): communication

Sixth chakra (between the eyebrows): Intuition and wisdom

Seventh chakra (forehead): transcendence and the seat of the soul

The flow of energy, which is considered a biological process in attaining great intelligence and strength, must start from the bottom up to the top. There are specific yoga poses in awakening the Kundalini through the seven chakras. In some practices, a stone is used to symbolize the “power-on button.” The stone is placed on the location of the chakra which will determine the state of the awakening process.

Increased sensory sensitivity, intuition, individual and spiritual consciousness, and knowledge are among the benefits of practicing Kundalini yoga. Succeeding to attain the benefits of Kundalini yoga takes years of practice, but it should not be hurried. Instead, take one step at a time. Focus on each chakra one at a time until you complete all seven. And indeed, a successful Kundalini Yogi will spend a lifetime in practice.